RSS

Madame Jill’s – Vietnamese Cuisine

27 Sep

Do you like Vietnamese foods? I do, in many times when i have lunch together with some friends, and they ask me what i do wanna eat, i would tend to answer Thai or Vietnamese foods. Why?? okay, let me be honest, as the Indonesian i used to eat tasty food, you may say strong flavor, but, really the foods i used to have are kind of spicy, salty, which you can find sensation of onion taste, and some other ingredients, so..simply i can say, i was suffer for the first moments i was here, when all the foods for me were just too plain, light, and tasteless, not even salty! and The Thai and Vietnamese foods are always the best foods i can get since the flavor is slightly like Indonesian, and of course more tasty than the common foods here, and something special from Thai and Vietnamese food is its sour sensation, not so sour, it’s just..how to say..delicious 😀

And the restaurant that we used to come is called Madame Jill’s which is located in 20-3 Xinsheng S Road, Sec 3, Gong Guan Taipei. Some say that compare to few other Vietnamese restaurants, Madame Jill’s is a bit more expensive (averagely 150 NT) but, i would like to say that actually you pay what you got, since the ambiance of the restaurant is nice, clean, and suitable for even family gathering. The capacity of the restaurant is around 75 persons, i think, and every time i went there, whether for lunch or dinner, the place was always full, but they do maintain the clean, and the service is fast.

Madame Jill's - During the Lunch Hour

The menu is in Chinese and English, and they do provide with the pictures, so there would be no problem in choosing, the problem is maybe in ordering, since they have another order paper which all are written in Chinese, so we need to match the number of the foods in pictures and the food’s number on the paper order to order, or if you’re not sure, just ask the waitress, and pointing the picture to recheck whether you order the right foods or not.

As i mentioned previously the foods here taste good, i have tried some of their menu, and i have no complain about them, some of the menu that i have ever tried are

1. the spicy beef with the coconut milk, and i just love it, they serve it with french bread, but if you prefer rice instead, you just simply order it with rice, if i’m not wrong it costs 180 NT ( 54.000 IDR or 5.9 USD)

h
2. The white noddle with shrimp spring roll. this is Olvin’s favorite, there’s no way to make him order anything else, he keeps ordering this thing no matter how many times we eat here, and i’m the one who always complain, i’m not saying that the food tastes bad, i just want him to try something else..so even i know this food is good, while i’m with him, i resist not to order just because i don’t want to let him feel he won over my argument :D. But anyway the food is good, kind of noddle with a little soup and vegetable with 3 springs rolls over it. It costs 120 NT

With Noddle with Spring Rolls - 120 NT

3. The last food i tried was beef noddle with coconut milk, it was not bad, Leo said that it is more like Vietnamese Niuromien, but i have to say that it is even better than Niuromien, it has real flavor, tasty, salty even not spicy at all for me. It costs (if i’m not wrong) 130 NT

Beef Noddle with Coconut Milk - 130 NT ( no bread)

We did try some other foods like seafood fried noddle, Shrimp ball, satay (125 NT), salad (Leo’s favorite, let him tell you by himself) and i would just say i love all those foods. I’m not sure about the exact price but i’m sure it was around 120 – 180 NT each

Chicken Salad

Shrimp Ball

Satay - 125NT

Seafood Fried Noddle

Well..seems i’ve been writing a lot only for this restaurant, so just let’s put it in number..i have 8.2 from 1 to 10 scale

Okay, happy eating and see you in the next restaurants

Kisses

Tina

 

Leo Says:

I DO NOT LIKE THIS PLACE. I am not screaming, I just want to be clear. Tina talks about it like this is the best restó in the world, but I disagree.

First of all, the ambient of the place is not so good for me, it is always full and noisy, and if you have to wait it will be outside, either it is melting hot or raining. They have many waiters but they don’t give a shit about you, you have to move your arms like you are drowning in the sea and anyway you have to wait for their own times. Once you get them to you they wont, and believe me I have tried, they wont understand Chinese nor English; and not, they are not Vietnamese. And after you order, you will have to wait long for it.

The pictures in the menu look horrible, nothing look tasty and everything looks the same (soup, curry, porridge, same same). The prices are totally over the average of the food you are getting, and don’t get me started about the food.

Every time I came to this restaurant was just to follow my friends. Yes, I am lazy and most of the time I prefer to let other people decide to avoid think what to eat. And that is the reason why I always choose the salad. For many months it was kept in secret (a really big effort to Tina) but I am getting out of the closet right now!. Ladies and gentleman: I choose the salad. I am not healthy, I am not gay, I just have no other choice.

The noodles are dry and tasteless, and summarizing, all the rest is too oily. The fried stuff: oily; the bbqed stuff: oily, the soups: oily; the curry: oily. Anyway, the salad is not the discovery of gunpowder, it is called “chicken salad”, but between us, is a cabbage salad with some pieces of chicken and a good dressing. If you side order a bread, then you get fool… sorry, full, and that’s all for your lunch.

I have tried many other dishes here, trying to get rid of the salad curse, but there was no way. I love Thai food, I love Indo food, I like Viet food, but this place has nothing to offer to me.

Food: 11/30. As I said: oily. Some dishes are not bad, but nothing surprising.
Service: 9/30. The waiters don’t speak English, they bring you everything to the table, except napkins.
Ambient: 15/30. I have never felt comfortable in this place.

Madame Jill Zǒu kāi!

Leo

 

One response to “Madame Jill’s – Vietnamese Cuisine

  1. An

    September 30, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    Sweetie, I really don’t like Vnese food in Taipei :(( they are too bad. I even can’t call them Vnese food. Seriously!
    come to Vn and I will show you what is really Vnese food ^^

     

Leave a Reply

 
